P.O. Box 849, Johnson City, Texas 78636

Diane Beagle, 2007-2008 President, 830-868-2675

Email:   Web:

Our club invites all women of the community to attend our meetings. Meetings are held on the 2nd Thursday of the month at 2pm beginning with the White Elephant Sale in September and running through May of each year.

The White Elephant Sale is held at the United Methodist Church but the monthly meetings are held at various member's homes or various churches, etc. 

The Craft Club meets on the Tuesday following the 2nd Thursday at 9a-4p at the EMS Station (Information: Joycelyn Carter, 830-868-7010).

The Community Garden club of Johnson City was formed in August of 1967, by nine women interested in gardening and the beautification of Johnson City, of which Lady Bird Johnson is still an honorary life member. Charter members began the club to place street planters, recycle paper, cans, etc and landscape the hospital grounds (the hospital is now the National Park Services Headquarters). The first meeting was held at the Lyndon B. Johnson Boyhood home.

Our motto is "Beautify and Serve" .  Our club is responsible for things such as a national award winning cookbook, the first community wide recycling project, planting of numerous trees here in Johnson City in memory of local citizens.

Some of our projects are street planters, bluebonnet mementos, Spring plant sale as well as arts and crafts sale, Hwy 281 & 290 Intersection landscape, "Potluck on the Pedernales" Cookbook, "Second Helping" as well as "POP" Cookbook, a chili sale, memorial plantings, aluminum can recycling and the LBJ Nursing Home.

"Lights Spectacular Hill Country Style" was started as a Garden club fundraiser and has been visited by people from various cities, states and countries each year.  In 1998 the Bylaws were amended to delete "Lights Spectacular"   from our projects, so that it could run with it's own organization. However, the Garden Club is still one of it's many supporters.

The Community Garden Club donates money to annual scholarships, EMS, the Library, Christmas J.O.Y., and many other worthwhile organizations.

The Club now is maintaining the Hwy 281/290 Intersection planters in Johnson City.

Year 2007-2008 Officers: Diane Beagle-President, Jean Anderson-Vice President, Marlene Edwards-Corresponding Secretary, Chelita Riley-Recording Secretary, Donna Sultemeier-Treasurer.


2006-2008: Diane Beagle
2004-2006: Judy Yentzen
2003-2004: Robyn Henderson
1992-1993: Ms. Margaret Dannecker
1990-1991: Mrs. Joel Honeycutt
1988-1989: Mrs. Terry Carter
1987: Mrs. Eddie Dyer
1986: Mrs. Duke Handley
1984-1985: Mrs. O. Bert Roark
1983: Mrs. R.F. Penick
1982: Mrs. William Watson
1981: Mrs. Charles Matus
1978-1980: Mrs. Warren Heider
1977-1978: Mrs. Wm. Sultemeier
1976-1977: Mrs. Lee Arbon
1974-1976: Mrs. Bill Stribling
1973-1974: Mrs. Thomas Shifflett
1971-1973: Mrs. B.J. Sanders
1970-1971: Mrs. Roscoe Parker
1969-1970: Mrs. Emil Joost
1968-1969: Mrs. J.D. Slack
1968: Mrs. Jewel Felps
1967-1968: Mrs. Jim Henry

This mini-web site donated by  Email:  Web: